MyFitnessPal

There are things in life that I simply don’t like doing. Taking showers, for one. Doing dishes. Or folding laundry. But what happens if I don’t take care of any one of those items? Things start piling up. Grease on my hair, dishes in the sink, clothes in the hamper. All because I didn’t do something really easy that doesn’t take super long if I would JUST RIP THE BANDAID OFF ALREADY.

That brings me to the topic today. Counting calories. UGH. I used to hate, hate, hate doing this. In fact, I still don’t love it. But if I don’t do it, things start piling up. AKA weight on my body that does not belong there. I’m someone who loves food. I don’t know if you’ve gotten that impression from me, but I’m basically Liz Lemon.

somefood

But, I cannot eat like Liz Lemon and maintain her lithe figure (because that’s not how real life works unfortunately). I’ve found that counting calories works for me for several reasons:

  1. I had counted carbs before and nearly killed everyone due to NO CARBS.
  2. I basically eat what I want and don’t feel guilty.
  3. MyFitnessPal does all the hard work for me.

Counting calories is an absolute necessity for me because during the day while I’m at work, I’m sedentary. When I graduated college and got my first desk job, I continued to eat the same way as when I lived off campus, and walked everywhere because I didn’t have a car. Which manifested in my gaining TWENTY POUNDS. This was not healthy due to my height and previous weight. I didn’t feel confident, I didn’t feel like me. I was also really sluggish and depressed (which is why I didn’t feel like myself). This past summer, I began counting my calories and running, and ended up losing about 10-15 pounds. Over the holidays, I have maintained my weight, which is what I wanted to do, and now, I’m trying to get back to my initial/regular weight from over two years ago. MyFitnessPal is awesome because you can set it to lose weight, maintain, or gain weight. There are a lot of things NOT verified, but you can eyeball close enough.

I love being active, and keeping up my exercise and healthy eating is something I plan to do for my entire life, not just now to lose weight. I’m concerned for my overall health because of family history, not just my appearance.

lemon-doc
NOT ME ANYMORE (ok sometimes aka I just demolished a meal at Chuy’s but it’s okay because I budgeted my calories and worked out today)
Author: kelspresso

Ambassador of Christ. Here's all you need to know: I love God, my family, and coffee.

Leave a Reply

