Med School Wife Life (FAQ)

You may or may know know that my husband is in medical school. He’s a year two (MS2) and he really enjoys learning all kinds of stuff, and so I like to tease and call him a nerd when he tries to explain something medically to me. I really try to understand what he’s saying but he uses all kinds of medical terminology so it’s hard for me to follow. Wow, I really got off track here.

Anyway, he’s a med student, so we are part of a population that people like to ask a lot of questions about. Most common questions:

  1. What are you going to study?
    • Well, since Beau is only in year two, he has no idea. “They” (the all-knowing medical gurus at school) say you won’t know until you start doing your rounds in years three and four. You will hopefully be able choose what you really enjoy doing depending on the scores from the dreaded STEP ONE test (the test you take about everything you learned from years one & two. Also called “boards” that you have to pass in order to move on to see patients).
  2. Where are you going to do your residency?
    • Depending on your STEP ONE test score and interviews (completed to residencies you have applied to in year four), you will be picked by one program on Match Day. That’s where you will go to residency. You will not know where until March of your fourth year in school.
  3. Do you study a lot?
    • Yes, all the time. It’s a job.

And the number one question I get asked all the time:

  1. What do you do while he studies?
    • Basically just retreat into my closet until he’s done. HA kidding (only slightly), it depends on the day. If it’s a weekday, I usually work out, read my Bible, cook dinner, tidy up the house, and get ready for the next day. On the weekend, I do more deep cleaning, sometimes go shopping, or I watch Netflix.

There are questions people ask over and over no matter what stage of life you’re in. When I was in high school, it was “where are you going to college?” In college, it was “What are you studying? When are you graduating? Do you have a job lined up?” I’ve learned that people are just trying to get to know you, and though it may be slightly annoying to answer the same question over and over, there’s no need to be rude or unkind.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask!

Author: kelspresso

Ambassador of Christ. Here's all you need to know: I love God, my family, and coffee.

Leave a Reply

