My new mantra:

I’m sure everyone has read my “Running” post, top to bottom, but I mentioned my favorite saying, which Tony Horton repeats in the original P90X workout series (on DVDs!! Yikes, how old am I?). “Do your best, forget the rest.”

I have developed this into my “mantra” for 2017. I have never had a mantra before, so this is very new for me and still weird. Last year was the first year I had a personal goal. I never wrote it down, and I only talked about it a few times, but I feel as though I had growth. This year, I have serious goals that I’ve written down and am (so far) clinging to. It’s only a few weeks into the year, but that’s still some progress.

Like I said in my “Running” post, I have some perfectionist tendencies (or control-freak issues, type-A personality, anything unflattering you can think of…ME). It’s very difficult for me to be open to change. As Queen Lorelai said, “As long as everything is exactly the way I want it, I’m totally flexible.” Logically, I KNOW that life cannot go my way 100% of the time or even 5% of the time. If you have the ability to go with the flow, I cannot stress to you how much I wish I had a little tiny pinky toe nail’s worth of “go with the flow.” Do I seem desperate to you? I am. HAHA *insert maniacal laughter here* Anyway, I am saying this to let you know how much I need this mantra. I tend to be pretty tough on myself and everyone around me. I expect perfection. But, that’s not something ANYONE can measure up to. Now, you’re like, “Um, no kidding. I wasn’t under the impression you were perfect.” LOL Neither was I! Lol. But if something doesn’t happen the way I plan it to, I kind of have the tendency to go, “Well if I can’t do this the way I think it should be done, may as well pack it up and go home.” Which is the WRONG way to go through life.

In Phillipians, Paul talks to the church and tells them to be aware of the false teachings going on, because they will be turned from their goals, and the prize he is also trying to obtain: his home in heaven. “Not that I have already obtained it or have already become perfect, but I press on so that I may lay hold of that for which also I was laid hold of by Christ Jesus. Brethren, I do not regard myself as having laid hold of it yet; but one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”

Paul had every reason to be held back by his past. As Saul, he killed Christians, persecuted the church, and did it all in the name of God. If he were applying my mindset, he would be like, “Welp, basically I shouldn’t even try. I’m done for.” NOT SO PEOPLE. 

SO not only am I applying this to my life spiritually, I’m taking this passage and applying it to my other goals as well. Basically, Tony is basically paraphrasing Paul. Do your best. Forget the rest. With everything in life.

tony-horton

Author: kelspresso

Ambassador of Christ. Here's all you need to know: I love God, my family, and coffee.

Leave a Reply

