French Onion Soup (take 1)

I love Panera’s French onion soup. Love. But it’s also not inexpensive. So, I’ve made it my mission to create my own French onion soup blend. This is my first attempt to create my perfect soup. And it was okay, I had to make some adjustments because I didn’t find the recipe before I went to the grocery store and thus got through several recipes and was like, hmm, don’t have that, don’t have that, gahh why. But I was determined to make it despite the odds. I followed Gimmie Some Oven’s recipe for French onion soup and caramelizing onions.

IMG_5476 (1).JPG
Caramelizing onions for the first time… Not too shabs.

Here’s where I went wrong:

  • 1/2 cup dry white wine – (I didn’t have, used non-alcoholic red wine)
  • 1 teaspoon worcestershire sauce (optional) – (I don’t have any in my pantry)
  • 1 bay leaf – (I don’t have any in my pantry)
  • 3 sprigs of thyme (or 1 teaspoon dried thyme) – (I don’t have any in my pantry)

This altered the whole soup FOR OBVIOUS REASONS. I pressed on, hoping my basil substitute would compensate for all the seasoning I was lacking. It did not.

img_5444img_5447

However, I really enjoyed the texture of my soup. It was just too sweet for me to come back to my mistake-ridden recipe. I need to swallow my stubborn pride & head to the grocery. On the bright side, however, I enjoyed myself– I jammed to my high school music while drinking coffee.

Author: kelspresso

Ambassador of Christ. Here's all you need to know: I love God, my family, and coffee.

Leave a Reply

