Easy Baked Jalapeño Poppers

Last night was an quick & easy dinner night – I made my signature “College Enchiladas,” but to spice things up I also made jalapeño poppers. My mom adapted this recipe from Emeril, but having never made his, I think these are the bomb. They are pretty quick as well–the only thing that takes time is slicing & dicing the jalapenos. I also halved the recipe since there’s only the two of us (& I’m the only one who eats them) and while I could eat every last one by myself, I need to reign it in.

Ingredients

  • 6 fresh jalapeños, halved & innards removed
  • 3/4 cream cheese brick
  • shredded sharp cheddar cheese (to taste – at least a half cup)
  • cumin (to taste – at least a teaspoon)
  • chili powder (to taste – at least a dash)
  • cayenne powder (to taste – at least a dash)

The really great thing about this recipe is that you can’t really screw it up. Like, I typically just eyeball it all.

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Set out the cream cheese on the counter to warm it up a little.
  3. Half the jalapeños & remove the innards (seeds, etc). I like to rinse all the seeds off to really get them clean.
  4. Lay them out on a cookie sheet. I like to put aluminum foil on top of the cookie sheet because I’m lazy & hate washing dishes unnecessarily.
  5. In a separate bowl, add the cream cheese, seasonings, and shredded cheese. Mix together. (With clean hands) I smush all the ingredients together to ensure correctly blended.
  6. Scoop cheese mixture into the halved jalapeños. If you like them stuffed, you may need to add more cheese mixture.
  7. Sprinkle cheese on top of jalapeños. If you’re feeling real experimental, you can add bacon bits to the top as well.
  8. Cook for 20 minutes or until cheese is browned.
  9. Enjoy!

Pics to follow, I’m a loser and forgot to commemorate my chef status. WOMP. This is the closest one I’ve found online, except I slice the heads/stems off as well.

poppers1
Looks pretty good, huh?

Pic Taken from If the Sneaker Fits

Hope you enjoy!

Author: kelspresso

Ambassador of Christ. Here's all you need to know: I love God, my family, and coffee.

Leave a Reply

