Define: hospitality

One time I was listening to a radio show & the hosts were waxing poetic (read: lambasting) about having visitors to their house. They were complaining about mishaps that occur when people stay for extended period at their house. To be fair, I only caught the tail end of the discussion on my way into work, and I could not believe what I was hearing. When they said that they wouldn’t let someone borrow a razor or toothpaste, I couldn’t deal. I tried to call in.

 

Me: Hi, I’m calling about the guest segment. Where is your sense of hospitality? How can you invite someone over and not feel as though you should make them welcome?

 

Person who answers phone: [silence]

 

Me: No?

 

Person who answers phone: Ha, no hold on.

 

Me: Oh okay.

 

Person who answers phone: We are moving on, but will still be taking responses via text at…

 

Me: Okay, thanks, bye [doesn’t text in my response because I’m driving]

 

But guys! Lets talk about this. Let’s look at the definition:
1. the friendly reception and treatment of guests or strangers.
2. the quality or disposition of receiving and treating guests and strangers in a warm, friendly, generous way
Synonyms:
warmth, cordiality, geniality, friendliness.
FRIENDLY. GENEROUS. WARM. None of these words describe the people who were saying that they wouldn’t share toothpaste if their guest forgot it. If people stay with you, you need to make sure you’re prepared for them! Buy a mini toothpaste specifically for guests. If you go to the dollar bin at Target, they have it. Not expensive. You can even buy backup toothbrushes and deodorant (I totally understand having a backup because I don’t really want to share but that’s why you buy an extra.)

This radio show seriously depressed me. I hope we’re not all so selfish that we place value over things rather than people. Just my two cents.
Author: kelspresso

Ambassador of Christ. Here's all you need to know: I love God, my family, and coffee.

Leave a Reply

