All the feelings about running

So I used to hate running. Like, “Hate hate hate. Double hate. Loathe entirely,” kind of hate.

grinch-gif
Me when I’m charting my running course (“The Grinch”)

My husband has been a runner as long as I’ve known him (since freshman year in college). And I’ve always been like, ha yeah, have fun with that. But in my upperclassman years, I took this class called “Figure Improvement” and Coach had us run EVERY. SINGLE. CLASS. Now, I think it was a MW class, so it was short, but for this girl (who swam in grades four through ten because “I don’t like people to see me sweat”) it was a lot of running. For one of our final classes, we had to run the two mile loop around campus UP the HILL. If you have been to WKU, you know about walking up the hill. And it’s brutal. Anyway, I’m going to be real, I couldn’t do the loop without stopping to walk. But I was in first place until the very end when three girls came out of nowhere and passed me. LIKE WHAT THE WHAT. Rude. But I kept running, and couldn’t help but feel like I could do it!

Then, I moved in with my (then fiancé, now husband’s) grandma a few months before we got married, he would come over and run with me after I would get off work a few days a week. That was in fall 2014, and we kind of fell off the wagon when we got married because it was a) December and not ideal running weather and b) I still thought I hated running then.

My husband ran a half-marathon this past April 2016 (13.1 miles). I went with him to cheer him on, and I saw all the people who were there to run, and unlike I thought, most of them didn’t look particularly fit like I imagined. They were an inspiration to me. “I could do this,” I thought. So then, this past summer, I started running semi-regularly. Like, in May, I ran 29.3 miles for the whole month (which is the most I’ve ever ran. Not a lot for some people, but a lot for me).

I’ve found that I really enjoy setting goals that I didn’t think I would surpass, and then finding I could. Running has been a stress reliever, and I enjoy time to myself to clear my mind. I have run while listening to Spotify, or podcasts, or sermons from other preachers/lessons I’ve missed. I track my miles using my Nike Running app, which seems to work fine for my purposes.

Then, in September, I thought I was going to beat my miles for May, but at the very end of the month I hurt my foot. So I haven’t run since then. I am such a perfectionist personality, sometimes I find myself feeling like, if I don’t do it perfectly, I’ve failed, and there’s no point to trying at all. Silly, I know. I try to remember Tony Horton’s mantra from P90X, which I personally feel should be everyone’s mantra at all times:

Do your best. Forget the rest.

Especially for perfectionist psychos like me who can forget that so easily. You can only do what you can do. So get out and do SOMETHING.

Author: kelspresso

Ambassador of Christ. Here's all you need to know: I love God, my family, and coffee.

Leave a Reply

