Christmas is here (in my house, anyway)

This may cause some controversy, but today I’m putting up Christmas decorations. I know, I know, Thanksgiving is less than two weeks away. But I firmly believe in celebrating both holidays together. Why? Because they both revolve around getting together as a family and rejoicing in our blessings. I want to soak that up as much as possible.

Secondly, my husband and I trade off our holidays each year with our families. So, we miss out on a large chunk of enjoying the fall and Christmas decorations in our home either way.

Thirdly, I love traditions. I apparently was born with a deep-seated love for family traditions. I say I was born with it because I don’t really know where that comes from. When I was little, I was the unofficial keeper of the traditions and would become irritated (to put it lightly) if we forgot about one/neglected one. When I got married about two years ago, one of my fears was losing out on my favorite Christmas traditions (which include but are not limited to: decorating cookies while watching Christmas movies, drinking egg nog when putting up decorations, quoting every word to “The Santa Clause,” eating Skyline Chili and Graeter’s on Christmas Eve, receiving pajamas on Christmas Eve to wear on Christmas morning, etc.). Guess what? My husband, Beau, is all about humoring me in re: my traditions. And we have had a great time making new ones, like getting a hot chocolate from Starbucks and driving around looking at Christmas lights. And buying a special ornament that pertains to our year for a mini tree we have. And having a real wood-burning fire in our fireplace. And going Christmas shopping together while I wear an embarrassing Christmas sweater with elf ears on Christmas Eve.

Seesh, I can’t wait to get started. I’ve got a busy schedule ahead of me. And you’re wondering, “What’s this crazy Christmas elf in guise of a human woman talking about?”

TBH, I’m just trying to justify my extreme Christmas fervor. SHUT UP AND LET ME DO IT WITHOUT COMPLAINING OKAY.

Love you all. Merry Thanksgiving and Happy Christmas!

Author: kelspresso

Ambassador of Christ. Here's all you need to know: I love God, my family, and coffee.

Leave a Reply

